Rep. Bob Spellane will not seek reelection

In a letter to supporters, State Representative Bob Spellane says he will not seek reelection for a sixth term next fall.

The embattled Spellane told Worcester Mag earlier this summer that he would “absolutely” run for reelection, saying, ““Nothing’s changed. Folks who voted for Bob Spellane in 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008 … continue to get the same representation if not stronger representation out of me today as they have throughout the last eight years.”

The full letter from Spellane to reporters below the jump.  Stay here for more analysis later in the day.

Good Afternoon.

As a trusted friend and one of my valued supporters I wanted to notify you that I have made a decision not to seek re-election to a sixth term as State Representative in the fall of 2010.

As you are aware, I have spent my entire life in public service and in the fall of 2000 you honored me with the opportunity to continue this journey of service as your State Representative. I have been fortunate and blessed to be elected to this position for five terms and owe a deep sense of gratitude to you for your continued support and friendship.

During my time in elected office I have been proud to be a leader on issues that are important to you, our Commonwealth and our society. Key issues such as enhanced funding for public education, expansion of health care, economic development, housing creation, a woman?s reproductive right, caring for those afflicted with disabilities, and equal rights for all of our citizens are areas where I have focused my work and we have made enormous strides.

In addition, during my tenure in elected office I have been fortunate to have superior and dedicated staff who has worked with me to answer your questions and assist you in times when you needed your government to work for you. We have maintained a district office for my entire tenure and it’s estimated that we have responded to nearly 20,000 constituent inquiries during this time.

I can assure you our work is not done yet and service to those living in our community and the 13th Worcester District will remain at as high a standard as ever.

Once again, I thank you for your continued support and friendship. No words can truly express my gratitude to you.

Sincerely,

Bob

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment