Eddy won’t seek an 8th term as Worcester Dem. Committee chair

Posted by Jeremy Shulkin

District 5 City Councilor Bill Eddy announced in a letter today that he won’t seek an 8th two-year term as the head of the Dem. City Committee, citing his busy schedule:

“These days, I carefully balance family life, a full time job, the City Committee Chairmanship, and my service on the Democratic State Committee, along with serving my second term on the Worcester City Council.  As such, I have concluded that it is time for a change…both for me personally and for the Committee.”

We’ll get more information later tonight about potential committee chairs and if this means change is afoot in his council future as well .

The letter in its entirety:

April 21, 2010

Dear City Committee Member:

Fourteen years ago, you honored me by electing me as your Chairman. At that time, the Democratic Party in Worcester was struggling, both financially and electorally, with Republicans holding our Congressional and both State Senate seats.

Working together, we have accomplished great things. Today, the City Committee and our local Party are in terrific condition. The Committee is more diverse, financially stable, and has forged successful alliances with organized labor and other political allies. Electorally, Democrats hold every elected seat in Worcester, with one son of Worcester holding statewide office and another native son on the cusp of joining him in Boston. As a political organization, the City Committee has assisted countless Democratic candidates, highlighted by the Committee’s efforts to raise and spend over $56,000 on behalf of Tim Murray’s campaign for Lieutenant Governor.

Like each of you, my life has changed greatly over the past fourteen years. These days, I carefully balance family life, a full time job, the City Committee Chairmanship, and my service on the Democratic State Committee, along with serving my second term on the Worcester City Council. As such, I have concluded that it is time for a change…both for me personally and for the Committee.

On Monday, May 24th, the City Committee will reorganize and conduct elections. At that time, I will not seek an 8th term as your Chairman and look forward to having the Committee select a Chair who will continue to build on the progress we have collectively achieved.

Again, I thank you for the opportunity to have served as your Chairman.

Sincerely,

William J. Eddy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

