Blog Log Digital 1/07/2010

Posted by Tim O’Keefe

Posted by “4RILLA” on 4rilla.blogspot.com

The above picture is from NYE on Y2K. I rang in the 2000’s rather nondescriptly with a smallish group of friends dancing at The Living Room in Providence. I think if all our watches stopped and our cars wouldn’t start due to some glitch we wanted to be close to home. Plus that 2000 NYE was so overhyped to begin with it was ridiculous. Ten years down, in not all that much more than a blink of an eye. I started this blog sometime in 2005 covering half of the decade with random updates and musings. I will say this blog hit its stride shortly after Crystal and I moved to Worcester during our failed first homebuying attempt. Not to be confused with our second attempt that turned into a failure. But upon moving to Worcester it was totally interesting to see and become integrated into a source of collective knowledge on a local level and the Worcester blogging community has been growing ever since I moved here in 2007.Worcester blogs have helped me keep my sanity at times, knowing that there are some other good folks out there watching over the powers that be, the city, etc and calling them on the carpet time and time again. I raise my glass to you!

Posted by “Bill Randell” on worcesterma.blogspot.com

I am hoping Joe will be a good Mayor and I actually holding out some high hopes, but his new year’s resolution was a little disconcerning. One of his goals is to lower his carbon footprint. If things keep going the way they are and more businesses keep leaving the City of Worcester your wish will come true.

Posted by “Dee Wells” on worcesterismajor.blogspot.com

New Hampshire has made texting while drving or “typing on a laptop or electronic devices” illegal effective January 1, 2010. New Hampshire, 18 other states, Guam and the District of Columbia have banned texting while driving. Some commonsense was written into law in New Hampshire though, allowing those that are entering a name or number into a cellphone to do so. Hat-tip New Hampshire!

Posted by “Chris” on worcesterin365.blogspot.com

Januaray 19, 2010 is the special election for our State Senator. You know the one that used to be filled by that guy they called Kennedy. If any one bothers at all to read this then please get out there and vote on that day. Get your friends, aunts uncles, brothers, sisters, mothers and fathers out there also. I’ll give you a little hint on who to vote for. His name is Scott Brown and if he is elected, He will be this countries savior from this huge pile of shit that our so called government “for the people” is calling “Health Care”. If you truely believe that you health care is that bad and you don’t mind coughing up a bit more of your hard earned money for a few more taxes. Oh, did I say taxes? Then by all means vote away your rights. But please don’t bitch about it later.

Posted by “Jeff Barnard” on wormtowntaxi.com

Looking into the intersection of West Boylston Street from East Mountain Street this morning, I remembered that I’ve never gotten a satisfactory answer to a question…Why do we call it The Summit? It’s not the highest point of any hill. My confusion about The Summit began many, many years ago. There was a restaurant at the corner of Burncoat and Fales (now a bank branch), that my broken memory wants to say was named… maybe Slattery’s Spa?… (Feel free to set me straight on this one.) At any rate, I always thought that particular location was pretty much the summit, or highest point, of what I always thought was called Burncoat Mountain.

Posted by “Lance” on nodrumlins.blogspot.com

Hard to believe, but we are going to head to the polls just two weeks from tomorrow to elect our next U.S. Senator. Why is it hard to believe? Because as far as I can tell, there is only one candidate actually running for Senate. Every time I turn on the TV or read the news, I see and hear Scott Brown. Scott Brown, Scott Brown, everywhere Scott Brown. I believe–if my memory serves me correctly–that the Democrats nominated a candidate last month. It was Martha-something-or-another. Honestly, it’s hard for me to remember because I haven’t heard from her in weeks. Too bad, really, because I am going to vote for her. She’s the best candidate in the race. She’s probably going to win. But unless she decides to start campaigning, she’s going to win by a hell of a lot smaller margin than she should. I mean…why should your every day Massachusetts voter brave the cold and the snow to cast a vote for her when she hasn’t found it worth her while to actually ask for a vote?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

